How to Get a Real Estate License in California

A career in property selling field can be very lucrative, but you need to have a license in order to sell buildings. In California, the licensing process can be done fairly quickly for obtaining a real estate license. If you are interested in selling homes or commercial properties, here are the requirements for getting a license.

License Requirements

According to California real estate license requirements, you must be at least 18-years-old to apply for a real estate license. Although you may be a resident of the state, residency is not required and there is a process for non-residents to take the exam. If you are at least 18, then you need to complete three college level courses pertaining to real estate, which are a minimum of 45 hours each.

The coursework can be completed online or you can take classes in person. There are two required courses and one elective course. The required courses are:

• Real Estate Principals

• Real Estate Practice

You have several options for the elective course, including:

• Property Management

• Real Estate Finance

• Legal Aspects of Real Estate

• Business Law

• General Accounting

There are several other elective classes from which to choose. As you complete each course, you will be given a final exam and then you will receive a Course Completion Certificate from the school where you took courses once you have passed all of the final exams.

License Application

Once you have the certificate showing you completed the coursework, the next step in fulfilling the California real estate license requirements is to apply for a license. When you submit an application, you are actually applying to schedule a date, time and location in which to take the state license examination. There are two different tests to choose from:

• Salesperson Examination Application

• Salesperson Examination/License Application

You need to submit a copy of your Course Completion Certificate with the application and a non-refundable fee of $150, which is payable to the Bureau of Real Estate. It has to be paid with either a check, money order or credit card as they do not accept cash payments.

You will be sent a notice about the date, time and location of the examination once your application has been processed. You have two years in which to take the licensing exam once your application has been filed with the BRE.

When you take the combination sales exam and license application, you will need to have your fingerprints scanned, which usually costs about $49 and the fee is $245 because it is also for your license and not just taking the salesperson exam. It is also very important that you are honest on your application because it may not be approved if you were ever convicted of a crime or for failure to disclose criminal activity.

Non-residents will have the same educational requirements and the application process is the same. Once your application has been approved and you receive your state real estate license, you can begin your career selling real estate.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *